Your Complete New Jersey Money Transmitter License Guide (2021)
Money transmitters in New Jersey have to undergo a licensing procedure before they can start their business in the state. You have to obtain a New Jersey money transmitter license as a first step. This ensures your suitability to conduct such professional activities.
In order to get licensed, you have to satisfy a range of requirements. They are set by the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance. It is the licensing authority that oversees the activities of money transmitters in the state.
In the sections below, you can get acquainted with the licensing procedure, so that you can launch your money transmission business with ease.
Meet the New Jersey Money Transmitter License Requirements
The operations of money transmitters in the state are regulated by the New Jersey Money Transmitter Act. The Department provides two types of licenses – a regular money transmitter license and a license for receiving and transmitting money outside the U.S., which is referred to as a foreign money transmitter license.
The requirements that you have to satisfy in both cases are detailed below.
Corporations, LLCs, and LLPs have to register their business entity with the New Jersey Department of Treasury. Sole proprietors and general partnerships have to register their trade names with their county’s office.
The starting point for your registration is the NJ Business Portal. Whichever case is applicable for you, you need to present the formation documents with your application.
The other documents that you have to provide are:
- Trade name (if applicable)
- Tax registration with the Department of Revenue
- Personal Certification Form for all officers, directors, key shareholders , members, partners, and owners
- LiveScan fingerprinting for each executive officer, partner, owner and each officer or manager
- Corporate structure description
- Business activities description
- Letters from each clearing bank that your payment instruments will be drawn and/or through which those payments will be payable
- Sample written authorized delegate agreement
- Sample payment instrument
- List of all proposed authorized delegates contracted by you in New Jersey
- List of the foreign countries to which money is to be transmitted (foreign transmitters)
- Copies of all filings made to the Securities and Exchange Commission or with a similar regulator in another country
Provide a Surety Bond
Applicants have to obtain a surety bond as a part of the licensing. It is an indispensable requirement that guarantees your legal compliance. The bond ensures that your customers are protected in case you transgress from the law. You need to provide it in the official bond form.
The required amounts of the New Jersey money transmitter bond are as follows:
- $100,000 for a money transmitter license
- $25,000 for a foreign money transmitter license
The bonding costs that you have to pay are a fraction of these amounts. They depend on the strength of your finances. The factors that influence your bond price include your credit score, company finances, and fixed and liquid assets. In case these indicators are in good shape, the rates that you can get are between 0.5% and 5%.
Want to see the precise cost of your New Jersey money transmitter bond? Complete the short form below!
You have to provide your unqualified, audited financial statement for the most recent year, as well as for the previous two years, if available. It has to be prepared by a Certified Public Accountant or Public Accountant in good standing.
The statement should showcase that you meet the minimum net worth requirement. It is $100,000 for a money transmitter, plus an additional $25,000 per agent up to a maximum of $1,000,000. For foreign money transmitters, it is $50,000, plus an additional net worth of $10,000 per location or agent in the state up to a maximum of $400,000.
Complete the New Jersey Money Transmitter License Application
Once you’ve ensured you meet all requirements, you have to complete the application form.
You have to mail your documents to:
Licensing Services Bureau
N.J. Dept. of Banking & Insurance
PO Box 473
Trenton, NJ 08625
License and Registration Fees
The licensing fee for all types of money transmitters is $700. You have to pay it with a company check or money order payable to the New Jersey Treasurer.
Want to know more about the intricacies of obtaining a New Jersey money transmitter license and bond? You can consult our bonding experts by calling us at 877.514.5146.
Latest posts by Robin Kix (see all)
- The Complete South Carolina Mortgage Broker License Guide 2021 - January 12, 2021
- Your Complete New Jersey Money Transmitter License Guide (2021) - January 12, 2021
- The Complete Oregon Mortgage Broker License Guide (2021) - January 11, 2021