Texas Public Adjuster Bonds Explained
Before they get licensed, public adjusters in Texas are required to procure a public adjuster bond. A type of surety bond, a public adjuster bond represents an agreement between three sides:
- The public adjuster (principal)
- The state of Texas (obligee)
- A surety bonds company (surety)
Surety bonds companies back the bond agreement and guarantee that public adjuster will comply with relevant regulations in the state. In this case, public adjusters are required to know and adhere to the provisions of the Texas Insurance Code and the Texas Administrative Code.
It’s important to realize that the bond does not act as insurance to you, but to the state and the people they work with. Using fraud or breaking the law in other ways can trigger bond claims, with the money used to compensate losses incurred to a third party.
For more information call us at (877)-514-5146 or continue reading the sections below.
You can find more information on our “What Does a Surety Bond Cost?” page.
Questions about Public Adjuster Bond in Texas
Who is required to post a public adjuster bond in Texas?
Texas law defines a public adjuster as a person “who, for direct, indirect, or any other compensation acts on behalf of an insured, another Public Insurance Adjuster; or a person who advertises, solicits business, investigates, settles, or adjusts or advises or assists an insured with the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage under any policy of insurance covering real or personal property, or holds himself or herself out to the public in negotiating for, or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage under any policy of insurance covering real or personal property.”
If you fit this definition, you will be required to get licensed and bonded.
What’s the cost of a Texas public adjuster bond?
The bond’s penal sum is $10,000. This means that a claim against your bond cannot exceed that amount.
But much like insurance, surety bonds are paid in premiums and need to be renewed, usually annually or biannually. The premium depends on your personal credit score. For a Texas public adjuster bond, most applicants will pay a flat rate of $100.
What is the application process like?
The application process is simple and hassle-free. All you need to do is submit our online application. You’ll receive a free bond quote, after which you need to sign an indemnity agreement, fill out the bond form (though we do most of it for you), and we’ll proceed with getting the surety’s signature.
Your bond will usually be ready in as little as one or two business days. A hard copy will be mailed to you but feel free to request digital copies for your archives via fax or email.
What do I need to know about bond claims?
Surety bond claims should be avoided at all costs. Not only can your liability reach $10,000, but you can also get your license revoked.
This is why it’s essential that you understand Texas law pertaining to public adjusters, and conduct your business in accordance with it. If you are notified of a violation, you must repay the compensation you owe prior to it turning into a claim.
You must also make sure to always renew your license and bond on time. The bond does not need a renewal certificate, but you must pay your premiums on time in order for it to remain valid year after year. The bond can be cancelled with a 30-day notice, but you still remain liable for violations committed prior to that.
How do I get a Texas public adjuster license?
The licensing process will vary depending on whether you are applying as a resident or nonresident public adjuster. If you are not exempt, you’ll need to pass either of two examinations: a TDI certified course and approved final examination, or the Pearson VUE exam.
You will then need to pay applicable fees and send your application to the Texas Department of Insurance– either on paper or electronically.