New Regulations for North Carolina “Mortgage Servicers”
This bill requires mortgage servicers to post a $150,000 license bond (type of commercial bond/surety bond), the same type/amount already required by other mortgage lenders operating inNorth Carolina.
With the signing of this bill, the NC Banking Commission is now authorized to charge a fee for expenses incurred during examinations of any licensees’ books/records in order to ensure compliance. Before HB 2463, such examinations were paid for by the Commission.
To clarify, the term “mortgage bankers” pertains to a person that makes mortgage loans, while “mortgage brokers” are people who solicit applications for such loans, issue loan commitments, etc.
Latest posts by Vic (see all)
- Credit Plan Lenders Bond for Virginia - March 16, 2012
- Public Official Bond for Snohomish Polytechnical College (WA) - March 15, 2012
- $25,000 West Virginia Reclamation Bond - March 14, 2012