How to Get a Florida Travel Agent License
Florida has always been one of the most attractive states, both for nationals and foreigners. A much desired touristic destination, Florida is home to many businesses and individuals offering travel services.
No matter if your business is located in the state or outside of it, as long as you’re looking to sell travel-related services in Florida you must register as a Seller of Travel. An important part of the registration process is posting a seller of travel surety bond, that will guarantee your compliance with the state laws and regulations.
Find out exactly what your Florda Seller of Travel Surety Bond will cost today, by filling out the short application below!
Let’s have a look at what you need to do in order to become a Florida Seller of Travel.
Florida Seller of Travel Requirements
There is no Florida travel agent license issued by the state but you still need to register as a Seller of Travel if you’re planning to sell travel-related services for individuals or groups in the state. The registration process is fairly easy and uncomplicated. You just need to complete an application form that can be easily accessed on the website of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
After completing the application you need to pay an application fee. For businesses that do not offer vacation certificates the fee is $300 (non-refundable).
For those offering vacation certificates, there is a $300 non-refundable fee, plus $100 document submission fee to the State of Florida. A surety bond must be posted, as required by the State of Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
The complete applications must be sent to the following address:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Sellers of Travel Program
PO Box 6700
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6700
The Seller of Travel registrations is valid for one year, starting from the day the certificate is issued.
Getting your Florida Seller of Travel Bond
Posting a bond is one of the few requirements you need to comply with to register your Seller of Travel business in Florida. The surety bond for businesses that do not offer vacation certificate is in the amount of $25,000, while the ones offering such certificates are required to post a $50,000 bond.
The final cost you will be paying, however, is not the whole amount of the bond, but just a fraction of it. When applying for the bond, the surety will take a number of factors into account to estimate your premium. These include your personal credit score, as well as your business finances and assets and liquidity.
If you qualify for the standard bonding market, the percentage you get will likely be in the range of 1%-3% of the bond amount. Applicants with bad personal credit will get a rate in the range of 5%-10%
Ready to apply for your Florida Seller of Travel bond? You can get a free bond quote from Lance Surety Bonds. Just contact us online or call us at 877.514.5146
Latest posts by Victor J. Lance, President/Owner (see all)
- How to Get a Mortgage Broker License in Florida [2021 Guide] - February 19, 2021
- How Much Does a Florida Liquor License Cost? [2021 Guide] - February 17, 2021
- How to Get an Alabama Dealer License [2021 Guide] - January 11, 2021