The Complete Hawaii Collection Agency License Guide (2021)
If you want to start a debt collection business in the state of Hawaii, you have to go through a number of administrative steps. Most importantly, you have to obtain a Hawaii collection agency license.
The licensing process is rigorous and aims to ensure that you satisfy all requirements related to operating as a Hawaii debt collection agency. They are determined and enforced by the state Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs.
You can find the full overview of how to obtain your license in the sections below.
Meet the Hawaii Collection Agency License Requirements
The licensing authority that regulates the functioning of collection agencies in the state is the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division at the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. It ensures that all licensees adhere to the Hawaii Revised Statutes, Title 25, Chapter 443b.
The criteria that you have to fulfill are detailed below.
In order to launch your operations in Hawaii, you have to create a business entity registration with the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. If you’re going to use a trade name, you need a separate registration for it as well.
You also need to obtain a list of other documents:
- Personal information about the applicant
- Designation of a Principal Collector who is responsible for the direct management and control of the daily operation of the office
- Disclosure questions for all principal collectors, officers, partners, managers, and members
- Proof of a regular active business office in Hawaii
- Certificate of Good Standing for businesses registered for more than a year
- Signed Release of Information to Third Party
Criminal Background Check
If you have a criminal conviction, you have to provide a current criminal record check from the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (HCJDC), not older than 6 months.
Post a Collection Agency Bond
All applicants have to provide a Hawaii collection agency bond as a part of the licensing. This is a security instrument that safeguards the interests of your customers.
The bond amount that you have to post is $25,000 for one location. For any additional location, you need another $15,000 in bond coverage. You need to submit your bond in the official form.
The bonding entails that you pay a fraction of the required amount, which is called the premium. The factors that shape it include your personal credit score, business finances, and fixed and liquid assets. The rates that you can get if these indicators are in good shape are in the range of 0.75% to 5%.
Want to see the exact price of your Hawaii collection agency bond? Fill in the short form below!
Complete the License Application
When you have collected all the required documents, you can fill in the application form.
Mail it together with the rest of the paperwork to:
DCCA, PVL, Licensing Branch
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801
License and Registration Fees
The applicable fees that you have to cover depend on the moment when you obtain the licensing. They are the following:
- $309 for registration between July 1st of an even-numbered year to June 30th of an odd-numbered year
- $167 for registration between July 1st of an odd-numbered year to June 30th of an even-numbered year
You have to go through the renewal process before June 30th of every even-numbered year to continue your operations. You can check your licensing via the Hawaii collection agency license search.
Do you need more details about obtaining your Hawaii collection agency license and bonding? You can get in touch with us at877.514.5146.
Latest posts by Ralitsa Golemanova (see all)
- The Complete Hawaii Collection Agency License Guide (2021) - January 5, 2021
- Recent and Upcoming State Laws Raise Auto Dealer Bond Minimums - April 15, 2015