The Full Colorado Collection Agency License Guide (2022)
Do you want to start a Colorado Debt Collection Agency?
You have to undergo the state procedure for licensing of such entities, which is a rigorous administrative process.
In order to obtain your Colorado collection agency license, you need to meet a set of requirements. They are set by the state Attorney General’s Office. They ensure that you are a suitable candidate for this profession.
In the sections below, you can find out the criteria that you need to satisfy in order to get on the list of licensed collection agencies in Colorado.
Meet the Colorado Collection Agency License Requirements
The Attorney General’s Office is the licensing authority in the state that regulates the activities of collection agencies. It ensures that licensees follow the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA) in their operations.
You have to obtain a license in most cases. The exemptions include:
- Attorneys engaged in debt collections
- Agencies that collect debt for commercial, business, investment or agricultural purposes
- Creditors who collect their own debts in their own name
The precise requirements for the licensing are detailed here.
As a first step, you have to get a registration for your business entity with the Colorado Secretary of State. You will also need a Certificate of Good Standing from the same authority.
The rest of the documents that you have to obtain include:
- Personal information about principals
- Previous history of the business and relevant debt-collection experience of the principals
- Information about Colorado licensed manager
- Personal Affidavit for every collection agency owner, partner, member or officer
- List of all debt collectors and solicitors currently employed
- Proof of Colorado office
- Trust account or receiving consumer payments
- Sample validation/first notice containing Colorado specific consumer rights advisory
- Debt purchase agreement (if applicable)
- Partnership Agreement (general partnerships only)
- Branch office list
- Debt collector and solicitor list
- Disclosure questions
You have to provide your financial statement for the previous year. It should showcase your net worth, assets, and liabilities. You need to submit it in the designated Financial Statement form.
Post a Collection Agency Bond
Obtaining a Colorado collection agency bond is one of the major requirements that you need to satisfy to get licensed. The surety bond protects your customers and the state against potential illegal activities on your side.
The bond amount that you have to post is between $12,000 and $20,000. It is set on the basis of your yearly collection volume. You have to submit the bond in the official form.
You have to pay a small fraction of the required amount in order to get bonded. It is called the premium, and depends on the strength of your personal and business finances. If they are strong, you can get rates between 0.75% to 5%.
Want to check the exact cost of your Colorado collection agency bond? Fill in the short form below!
Complete the Colorado Collection Agency License Application
Once you have collected all the necessary paperwork, it’s time to fill in the application form.
Afterwards, you have to mail it to the Attorney General’s Office together with all supporting documents:
Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor
Denver, CO 80203
License and Registration Fees
The fees that you have to cover are the following:
- $1,000 application fee
- $500 investigation fee
Do you have more questions about your Colorado collection agency license and bonding? You can reach us at 877.514.5146.
Latest posts by Robin Kix (see all)
- The Ultimate Florida Collection Agency License Guide [2022 Update] - February 22, 2022
- Your Complete New York Mortgage Broker License Guide [2022 Update] - January 17, 2022
- How to Open a California Credit Services Organization [2022 Guide] - January 16, 2022